Book Review | Shadow of the Fox Series; Potential Spoiler Warning

Thursday, 1 October 2020


My main goal for this year was to read all the ARC's (that most are no longer ARC's) on my Netgalley account. Both Shadow of the Fox and Soul of the Sword were on there, so this seemed like a good series to read to knock two off the list. But I also had heard really good things about the series as well, and with good reason, as I loved it. As this is a series, I will try my best to keep my reviews as spoiler-free as possible, but I wouldn't read my reviews for Soul of the Sword or Night of the Dragon unless you want to know where the story is going or if you've already the series, of course.



Started: July 19, 2020 | Finished: August 4, 2020

Synopsis
One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish—and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos.

Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn.

Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple’s greatest treasure—one part of the ancient scroll.

There are many who would claim the dragon’s wish for their own. Kage Tatsumi, a mysterious samurai of the Shadow Clan, is one such hunter, under orders to retrieve the scroll…at any cost. Fate brings Kage and Yumeko together. With a promise to lead him to the scroll, an uneasy alliance is formed, offering Yumeko her best hope for survival. But he seeks what she has hidden away, and her deception could ultimately tear them both apart.

With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko’s secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself.

My Review: 4/5 Stars

This book had me hooked from the start with its character building and action. I really enjoyed the journey the characters went through. Yumeko started out as a naive girl who didn’t know anything outside of the temple she grew up in and learned more about the world the more she ventured out on her mission. Tatsumi started out as a very hard and emotionless person, to someone who was learning to feel emotions and to trust others. I also liked the side characters that ended up joining them along the way on their journey to complete their mission. I’m really looking forward to the next in the series, going to start that very soon. 

Started: August 17, 2020 | Finished: Sept 2, 2020

Synopsis

One thousand years ago, a wish was made to the Harbinger of Change and a sword of rage and lightning was forged. Kamigoroshi. The Godslayer. It had one task: to seal away the powerful demon Hakaimono.

Now he has broken free.


Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has one task: to take her piece of the ancient and powerful scroll to the Steel Feather temple in order to prevent the summoning of the Harbinger of Change, the great Kami Dragon who will grant one wish to whomever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers. But she has a new enemy now. The demon Hakaimono, who for centuries was trapped in a cursed sword, has escaped and possessed the boy she thought would protect her, Kage Tatsumi of the Shadow Clan.

Hakaimono has done the unthinkable and joined forces with the Master of Demons in order to break the curse of the sword and set himself free. To overthrow the empire and cover the land in darkness, they need one thing: the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers. As the paths of Yumeko and the possessed Tatsumi cross once again, the entire empire will be thrown into chaos.
My Review: 4/5 Stars

I will admit, I found this one a bit slower than the first. I don't know if that's just me or not. The last quarter of the book is what had me bump up my star rating. I still really enjoyed the book, and am in enjoying the series immensely. I'm excited to finish it off with the third book! I liked Yumeko's journey on learning more about what she's capable of with her kitsune powers. I wasn't expecting Okame and Daisuke's relationship to progress the way it did, but I was so here for it! I'm really interested in finding out the state of Tatsumi in the next book after what he went through in this one. Overall, I did really like this one, just preferred Shadow of the Fox a bit more. I've already started Night of the Dragon because I need to know what happens to all these amazing characters!


Started:
Sept 4, 2020 | Finished: Sept 29, 2020
Synopsis
  
Master storyteller Julie Kagawa concludes the enthralling journey into the heart of the fantastical Empire of Iwagoto in the third book of the Shadow of the Fox trilogy. As darkness rises and chaos reigns, a fierce kitsune and her shadowy protector will face down the greatest evil of all. A captivating fantasy for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas and Marie Lu.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has given up the final piece of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers in order to save everyone she loves from imminent death. Now she and her ragtag band of companions must journey to the wild sea cliffs of Iwagoto in a desperate last-chance effort to stop the Master of Demons from calling upon the Great Kami dragon and making the wish that will plunge the empire into destruction and darkness.

Shadow clan assassin Kage Tatsumi has regained control of his body and agreed to a true deal with the devil—the demon inside him, Hakaimono. They will share his body and work with Yumeko and their companions to stop a madman and separate Hakaimono from Tatsumi and the cursed sword that had trapped the demon for nearly a millennium.

But even with their combined skills and powers, this most unlikely team of heroes knows the forces of evil may be impossible to overcome. And there is another player in the battle for the scroll, a player who has been watching, waiting for the right moment to pull strings that no one even realized existed…until now.

My Review: 4/5 stars

I really liked this one!! It was probably my favourite in the whole series. I thought it was a solid final book for the series, full of a lot of action, and tying up loose ends. I'm just not sure how I feel about the ending, and that's why I knocked off a star. I love the author's writing style though, and I'm definitely going to have to check out her other books after reading this series. We lost a good amount of characters in the end which surprised me how many, but each death scene was so well written, and as a reader, you felt for each one. Some of the characters I was expecting to lose, but there were some that surprised me that we lost them as well. Overall, this was a really good solid trilogy that I enjoyed reading. It's always nice when all the books within a series are enjoyable and fun to read. 

Have you read the Shadow of the Fox series? What are your thoughts on the series?

No comments:

Post a comment

 photo envye.jpg
envye blogger theme